RA Today ~ October 6

autumn-misc

Well … I just made a nasty little discovery.   I decided to clean up the media storage area on this WordPress dashboard and delete photos I no longer need.  What I didn’t realize was that if it was deleted from the media storage spot, it also deleted from the post.  So, hundreds of photos which I carefully posted are gone.  Done.  Fini.  Caput.  I feel gutted.   Yeah, I know, in the grand scheme of things this is trivial.  I know it.  But I still feel gutted.  Sigh.  The pity party should be over in another hour or so and then it will be back to our regularly scheduled swoony silliness.

crying sad

Today has sucked hippo weenies.   A person tweeted to Darren Denison, director of Staged, that someone had been posting gifs of Staged on Tumblr.  The tone was not congratulatory to him, but a warning/prompt to action (I could be reading too much into it).   Since I am the only person who has giffed the movie and posted them on Tumblr, and the tweeter knows this, it made no difference that my name wasn’t spelled out in that tweet.   Mr. Denison asked for the links which I assume have been provided.

I am guessing that I’m okay legally.  I’m hoping that I am.  There are millions, if not billions, of screen caps and gifs from nearly every movie and tv show ever made floating around out there on the interwebs.  I did nothing unique, new or unusual.  I did not post the gifs in order and used only one quote from the film which I think is fair-use.

The same person tweeted to another person that I reposted their work on Tumblr.  Well, I did post it and thanked the person and provided links.  However, it was recommended on twitter that others lodge complaints against me with Tumblr who may, if pushed, close down my blog.  Before turning off Anon on Tumblr tonight, I received hate mail which showed that the tweets did a bang up job.

I HATE the idea that I will cause Mr. Denison to have complaint with a fan of Richard’s;  that I have reflected badly; behaved inappropriately; or otherwise generated criticism of his fans.  I’m not keen to be made an example of.

Hopefully tomorrow the gloom will have lifted and I can put this in perspective.

Interesting little tidbit that’s been dug up on Sleepwalker (X).

autumn-tweets

 

autumn-sets

There was more but my  heart’s just not in it tonight

Guy      1     2      3     4      5
Lucas   1     2      3      4     5     6     7     8     9     10     11     12     13     14     15     16    17
Porter   1
Standring    1
Steven 1
Thorin  1     2     3    4     5     6     7
Thornton 1     2     3
Misc.    1    2    3     4      5
Multiple Characters 1

autumn-photos

a

Tiny Thorin is lost & needs help finding his way to Bag End by radiorcrist

by Jollytr

by nightshadow993

by nightshadow993

by mirielofgisborne

by north-and-prejudice

John Bateman by armitagesangel

by camasarye

by armitagesangel

Stop scowling brother or no one will ever want to marry you by hattedhedgehog

by mysteriousstar

14 thoughts on “RA Today ~ October 6

  1. Sorry about the double trouble.

    Something like your first complaint happened to me with pictures on Picasa. I had them in an album and when I deleted them it deleted the original. Hate when that happens!

    I’m sorry to hear about the negativity directed at you. I hope it does blow over.

    Tree

  2. ra-overload says:

    Come here, love! Let me give you a hug!
    I read that something went down today in the fandom on zee’s blog. i didn’t know the details til now. emailed you.

  3. I don’t believe gifs fall in the same category as video clips made available on the internet, so I hope you don’t lose sleep over this, because Dennison has to come up with some real legal jumbo jumbo to force you to take them down, or make you believe that you broke any law or some unspoken Armitage rule. People just have nothing better to do than spread their own misery on the web and I’m sorry you had to be the target.

    • jollytr says:

      Thank you for considering the legal pov … I assumed (and we all know what assume means, ugh) that since there are a gajillion gifs and caps of a bajillion movies and tv shows that I wasn’t doing anything new, unusual or illegal. I’ve contacted Denison and let him know it was me and that I am eager to speak with him. The sun will come out tomorrow. Or, it’s always darkest before dawn? One way or another, it’ll get sorted out. THANK YOU for your encouragement.

      • Hang in there.

        Do let me know what Dennison says. If he ever asks you to remove your gifs, I’m tossing my copy of STAGED in the trash.

      • jollytr says:

        I have the feeling (read: massive hope) that it might not be a biggie to him. He responded to the tweet saying not to bother sending him the links if there are too many. Will post the outcome. Thanks for your encouragement!

      • Hariclea says:

        he’s been quite happy i think that the DVD was so successful and i am sure he has no interest in getting into petty things with fans of RA who all they did was promote with work via creative fun input 🙂 Chin up , i’m sure he’ll be reasonable and you have nothing to worry about ( water under the bridge, try to forget about it) x

  4. jazzbaby1 says:

    Keep your chin up, dude. This was just about the most absurd non-drama I have ever seen.

    • jollytr says:

      Thanks Jazz! In reviewing the tweets I’ve discovered that the same person who contacted Denison has also solicited someone else to report me to Tumblr for stealing their artwork. I did post their photoshops but had their full name in credit and link to them on their twitter. Looks like my troubles aren’t going to be over quickly I’m afraid 😦 Not keen on being a drama queen – will work on my discretion a little harder tomorrow when I’ve had some sleep and distance from the nasty surprise of all this.

  5. Perry says:

    It’s not *you* who will have brought criticism of Richard Armitage fans; it’s the person reporting/urging reporting.

  6. jholland says:

    That was very ugly- I saw it go down. Liked Perry’s tweet, but I just kept my head down. I’m already pretty suspect since I tweeted beard pics to Richard, you know. Personally, I think Dennison’s short-sighted to ask that any gifs/caps from the actual film are taken down. If it weren’t for tumblr, a lot would never have heard of Staged, myself included. The gifs merely whet the appetite for potential consumers. They’re not a substitute. Sorry for your troubles.

Leave a Reply

